Catchment Plans

A Catchment Area Transition Plan outlines the agreed upon notification processes between each Children’s Developmental Services Agency (CDSA) and its respective Local Education Agencies (LEAs) around notification timelines and process for transmission of the data. One primary contact person in each agency should be identified to send and receive this information. Listed below are the plans for LEAs in North Carolina. If you have questions, please contact Dawn Meskil at

  • 2021-22 Blue Ridge area plan for schools in Alleghany County, Ashe County, Avery County, Mitchell County, Watauga County, Wilkes County, and Yancey County school systems
  • 2017-18 Cape Fear plan for schools in Bladen County, Brunswick County, Clinton City, Columbus County, Cumberland County, Duplin County, New Hanover County, Pender County, Robeson County, Sampson County, and Whiteville City school systems
  • 2021-22 Charlotte area plan for schools in the Charlotte-Mecklenburg Schools system
  • 2021 Concord area plan for schools in Rowan-Salisbury, Iredell-Statesville, Mooresville, Cabarrus County, Kannapolis, Stanly County, and Union County school systems
  • 2021-22 Durham area plan for schools in Chatham County, Durham City/County, Franklin County, Granville County, Orange County, Person County, Vance County, Warren County, and Chapel Hill-Carrboro school systems
  • 2017-18 Elizabeth City area plan for schools in Camden County, Edenton/Chowan, Currituck County, Dare County, Gates County, Hertford County, Elizabeth City/Pasquotank, Perquimans County, Tyrrell County, and Washington County school systems
  • 2022 Greensboro area plan for schools in Alamance County, Caswell County, Guilford County, Randolph County, Asheboro City and Rockingham County school systems
  • 2019-20 Greenville area plan for schools in Beaufort County, Bertie County, Greene County, Hyde County, Martin County, Pitt County and Wayne County
  • 2018 Morganton-Hickory area plan for schools in Alexander County, Burke County, Caldwell County, Catawba County, Newton-Conover, Hickory City, and McDowell County school systems
  • 2019 New Bern area plan for schools in Onslow County, Carteret County, Craven County, Jones County, Pamlico County, and Lenoir County school systems
  • 2020-21 Raleigh area plan for schools in the Wake County Schools system
  • 2014-15 Rocky Mount area plan for schools in Edgecombe County, Halifax County, Johnston County, Nash County, Rocky Mount, Northampton County, Roanoke Rapids City, Weldon City and Wilson County school systems
  • 2022-23 Sandhills area plan for schools in Anson County, Harnett County, Hoke County, Lee County, Montgomery County, Moore County, Richmond County, and Scotland County school systems
  • 2021 Shelby area plan for schools in Cleveland County, Gaston County, Lincoln County, Polk County, and Rutherford County school systems
  • 2020-21 Western NC area plan for schools in Asheville City, Buncombe County, Henderson County, Madison County, Transylvania County, Cherokee County, Cherokee Central Schools, Clay County, Graham County, Haywood County, Jackson County, Macon County, and Swain County school systems
  • 2017-18 Winston-Salem area plan for schools in Davidson County, Davie County, Elkin City, Lexington City, Mount Airy City, Stokes County, Surry County, Thomasville City, Winston-Salem-Forsyth County and Yadkin County school systems